headabovelaundry

Three kids, two dogs, one husband…keeping my head above the laundry pile one load at a time…

Nerd Alert!

on March 20, 2012

While I was in Illinois visiting family over March Break, my mom gave me and my brothers some of our old games from our childhood.  It was a trip down memory lane for the three of us.  Very few of our games required a battery, precision screwdriver, or charging device.

As we divided the games between us, it was pretty easy to figure out who was the owner of the game in question:

  • Was it a “cool” game, i.e. one that required a battery and lit up/made noise?  Those belonged to my youngest brother, Jeff, who is 9 years younger than me.  Yes, he had the uber-cool Merlin (that still works, by the way), the small arcade-style Caveman game (that also still works), and Operation.
  • Did it in any way involve nature, the outdoors, wildlife, building?  Those belonged to my other younger brother, Mark, who is 4 years younger than me.  He was also the owner of a hand held electronic basketball game.
  • Was it a nerd game, i.e. one that involved spelling, writing, life, career?  Those belonged to yours truly.  Boggle?  Mine.  Ad-Lib?  Mine.  Scrabble?  Mine.  Life?  Mine.  Careers?  Mine.  Payday?  Mine.  Verbatim?  Mine.

From the stack of games I brought home with me, it appears that I spent most of my childhood trying to be a grownup.

I think this is my favorite game box~

The recommended age for this game is 8 and up, yet the photo on the box shows two brandy snifters and a set of pearls. I know the drinking laws were a little more flexible when I was young, but an eight year-old drinking brandy and wearing pearls?

Leave a Reply

