headabovelaundry

Three kids, two dogs, one husband…keeping my head above the laundry pile one load at a time…

Is a Rose By Any Other Name Still a Rose? Or Is It a Weed?

on May 31, 2012

I received a letter from The City of Toronto:  Etobicoke York District’s Parks, Forestry & Recreation Division in the mail today (here in Canada, they like to be very specific with their locations and titles and such).  I almost threw it away without opening it because I assumed it was a reminder that I could still sign up Ryan for camp this summer.  I didn’t throw it away, but I did assume incorrectly.

Turns out, my garden “has been nominated for the 2012 City of Toronto Etobicoke York District Great Gardens Awards Competition.”  My life is nothing if not ironic.  My “garden”, nominated for an award.  The “garden” is a 2 foot by 5 foot section between the sidewalk and my dining room window.  It does look pretty this summer…everything is green, many of the flowers are blooming, the weeds are minimal (I think).  But, the mulch is still last year’s mulch, and it’s faded and weathered.  The flowers have been smashed by wayward baseballs and basketballs, busy-body squirrels, and dogs gone wild sniffing the scent of busy-body squirrels. There may or may not be faded Nerf gun bullets laying among the plants.

The boys and hubs and I  planted all the flowers ourselves.  No expert landscapers, no layout, no plan.  It was a trip to The Home Depot two years ago, where we selected flowers based on the following criteria:

  1. Is it pretty?
  2. Do we like the color?
  3. Is it a perennial?  (I don’t want to replant everything every year.)
  4. How much does it cost?

And this qualifies us for a potential garden award?

What concerns me more is that I have one plant in my “garden” than I’m not 100% certain is an actual flower.  It may, in fact, be a weed.  I know, I know.  I’m a farm girl.  I should know these things.  But I don’t.  I am never certain about the weed/flower judgements.  A few years ago, I was featured in a “Gardens Gone Wrong” story in Real Simple on-line because I inadvertently pulled all the perennials out of my flower bed and staked and fertilized a weed.  It was a beautiful, sturdy weed growing right in the middle of my garden.  Until my next door neighbor stopped by and kindly asked me why I was purposely growing a weed.  Oops.  (But at least it was a weed, not the weed.)

I think I need to re-think my whole gardening plan.  I think I should pull everything out and plant annuals.  Then I will know what is a weed and what is a flower.

Until then, I have to decide if I should fill out the Garden Awards Competition Questionnaire.  I guess the judges don’t need to know I can’t tell a flower from a weed.  There is no plant IQ test for this award…

5 responses to “Is a Rose By Any Other Name Still a Rose? Or Is It a Weed?

  1. outlawmama says:

    Hilarious. I want a picture. Are you sure your weed isn’t The Weed? Maybe that’s why your dog likes it so much! Congrats on your award.

  2. sewmama says:

    My garden seems to grow hockey pucks. Is there an award for that?

  3. Kim says:

    Where is the picture of this nominated garden!? Best of luck!! My garden is a disaster, and would most definitely NOT be nominated by anyone…so when you are done adding new mulch to yours, do you think you could fly out west and fix up mine 😉

Leave a Reply

