headabovelaundry

Three kids, two dogs, one husband…keeping my head above the laundry pile one load at a time…

Shoeless Joe Diner

on June 7, 2012

I know I lack some social graces.  I acknowledge that I spend too much time talking about myself and have an inability to make casual small talk.  And I totally suck at remembering people’s names (although, since I saw the 60 Minutes show about people who cannot recognize people’s faces – including the woman who couldn’t recognize her own daughter – I feel I have a valid medical reason (albeit self-diagnosed) for not remembering people’s names). 

However, there are a few things I do know when it comes to good manners – beyond saying please and thank you (which honestly, today, is exceeding my expectations). 

I know that one should not wear pajama pants when they leave the house (wheeling a trash can out to the curb is the exception to this rule).  That includes shopping at Wal-Mart, people.  Just because they roll back prices doesn’t mean they also roll back the dress code.  Put on some pants, for crying out loud.  I will accept yoga pants, just not flannel Sponge Bob Square Pants pants….especially if you are over seven years old. 

And for the love of all that is holy and sanitary, please, leave your shoes on when dining out!  Today while I was having breakfast with a friend, I noticed the gentleman across from me had removed his shoes while eating breakfast.  His blue and white Nike tennis shoes sat next to his sock-clad feet the entire time he was eating breakfast.  When he finished eating, he slipped his shoes back on and left the restaurant.  Was it a cultural thing?  Perhaps, but the woman dining with him left her shoes on the entire time.  And even if it was a cultural thing, what about “When in Rome…”?  Or what about sanitary and respect for your fellow diners?

And you thought loud cell phone talkers were annoying and distracting?  Try eating a ham & swiss crepe-omelet with hollandaise sauce (yes, I know I’m trying to lose weight to fit in all those clothes in my closet, thank you for the reminder) with someone sitting across from you without their shoes on.  I could only eat one piece of butter-slathered toast.

2 responses to “Shoeless Joe Diner

  1. outlawmama says:

    Hilarious! I laughed outloud. I agree on all fronts. That crepe sure sounds delicious!!! That line about Wal mart is perfect. Thank you for the laugh.

  2. Thank you, Outlaw Mama! The crepe was delicious! I didn’t even have to eat lunch. There is so little to be said about Wal Mart that hasn’t already been shown on the People of Wal Mart website. But I’m gonna try!

Leave a Reply

