headabovelaundry

Three kids, two dogs, one husband…keeping my head above the laundry pile one load at a time…

How Many Accountants Does It Take To Change A Lightbulb?

on June 26, 2012

Have any of you visited the lightbulb aisle of your local Home Depot or Lowe’s lately?  Anybody?  Or just me?

The choices and varieties make my hair hurt.  Seriously.  Compact flourescent, old school light bulbs, halogens, LEDs, long neck, short neck, large spotlight, small spotlight, indoor, outdoor, clear bulb, frosted bulb, skinny candelabra base, medium candelabra base, fat candelabra base, stark light, warm light, screw in, snap in.

In the immortal words of Rodney King (RIP, Rodney), “Can we all get along?”.  Why, for the love of indoor lighting, are there so many different light bulbs?  I like choices when it comes to important things (like shoes….or chips), but when it comes to light bulbs, I just want the bulb to fit in the socket and light up when I flip the switch.  It doesn’t seem that hard.

I am currently trying to find a light bulb to fit my Scentsy scenter thing…I’ve been to Lowe’s, Home Depot, Wal-Mart and Loblaws, and still haven’t found the right bulb.  I am also looking for one of those little ultra-sensitive halogen bulbs that fit in under-cabinet lighting.  Can’t find the right style prongs in any of the choices.  Or, if I’m lucky enough to find the right prongs, they aren’t spaced properly and won’t fit.  Argh!

Today, I’m headed to a small, local hardware store in hopes that they may have the bulbs I’m looking for.  In the meantime, I have the words to Debbie Boone’s “You Light Up My Life” playing in my head.  Great.  I’ll be sitting in the dark singing “Alone in the dark, but now you’ve come along.”  You’re welcome!

4 responses to “How Many Accountants Does It Take To Change A Lightbulb?

  1. outlawmama says:

    Actually, I did this about 3 months ago. I was sent there to get some lightbulbs by my hubs and I too had that hair hurt thing. I was dying….a whole aisle at my Home Depot. After all that, I don’t think they had what I was looking for.

  2. Sally says:

    I feel your pain. I had to trash an “energy efficient” lamp because after three years of searching, I could never find a replacement “energy efficient” light bulb for it. (“Energy efficient” is in quotes because the amount of energy I expended looking for the bulb counteracted any energy saved by the lamp itself.)

  3. Nina Badzin says:

    Not to sound too 1950, but this is absolutely my husband’s “department.” I don’t think I’ve bought a light bulb in 12 years. Scary! I DO know he’s always complaining about the new ones though.

  4. Sanstrousers says:

    I bought these super cute lamps for my kids’ rooms, only to find that the only bulbs I could find to fit them were night-light bulbs. I was not amused.

Leave a Reply

